Sense of humour

Sense of humour

Humour is something, I feel like is individual for each person. Some like dark humour, some like the silly one, some like the ones that make you think, some like the ones that make fun of others … everyone their taste.
So I didn’t really plan to write anything on this one, but apparently it’s an ADHD thing … we seem to have a strange sense of humour – I was told – which causes us to struggle with relationships at times. Alright .. let me think if that’s the case for me ..maybe on the lower part of the spectrum for this one.

Once I started paying attention I noticed that I actually told people a lot that “I’m just kidding” after I said something to make sure they understood that I was joking, because apparently I can leave people confused with my sarcastic answers to their questions or comments about things that have been said.

That’s true. Like my best friend asked me one time if I went to the hairdresser like I planned and I could not help it but say” yea … and I had them cut it like this …” and I would send a picture of a man with kinda like short hair. Which I suppose left her confused. What did you do??? Why the hell would you do that?!?!
Ehm … ok now seeing I figured that this upset her I could just say I was kidding, but now I’m fascinated why you would care and I can’t stop myself to just go deeper into it …
“why, don’t you like it?”

Why don’t you like it?! It looks fanastic! – No, it doesn’t! – Why not!!
And then when we are too far into the conversation I’d be like .. I was just kidding .. just to leave them confused and not believing me anymore that I was actually joking and I had to open the camera to proove that my hair didn’t change. Just then to hear myself say … “actually those are hair extentions because I thought she cut too much, so … kidding!!!! kidding!”
The other problem of ADHD – we don’t know when to stop. Anything .. including the kidding!

Maybe also the urge and ability to think very fast, but not slow enough to put on the breaks in my brain to tell myself, this is not the time to say that …that’s why I love writing.
So I can understand why my sense of humour is not for everyone, and I just learned in life to stay calm and not talking too much in general, I also stopped being funny. Until recently when I stopped pretending being somebody I’m not.
If you care to get to know me, you will understand that I may be kidding... or not, who knows, always presume that I am, in case of doubt!

I’m also not the type of person you can watch any comedy movies with, which can have an influence on relationships, I suppose? If your partner loves comedy movies maybe. Actually I generally hate comedy movies with a passion. Totally senseless for me.
I like movies that either have action (dopamine) in it or they make me think. Anything else is a waste of time for me (comedy, romance .. not me) and I literally can not sit still in the seat. It physically pains me to have to sit and watch. You will find me change position every 5 seconds, bouncing my legs or playing with my hair, falling asleep is a favourite also … or just simply blanking out and thinking about something totally not related. So please don’t ask me after the movie how I liked it or which part I found especially touching … but watch action movies with me or movies based on real stories or anything that makes you think about life .. let’s talk! I’m all yours!

The same goes for stand up comedy … I can’t stand stupid and useless comedy. I hate those who make fun of others, I don’t know why. I have to walk away if they do that.
Too sensitive maybe.
I recently saw a show by somebody who apparently is known to make fun of people in the first rows. And the minute the show started he made fun of somebody who was very obese. And everybody was laughing and the man himself, included. But I could see that he was only laughing because the camera was on him. He can’t possibly have found those jokes funny as they were quite harsh to a degree. I wasn’t able to continue watching. I couldn’t understand what was happening. Why would somebody make fun like that and why would others even laugh about those, that was too much .. it’s cruel!

But I absolutely love those comedians that make you think and use your brain, that are couragous to say things, others don’t dare to and make humanity think about things that go wrong in this world. Those who use their voices and gifts for a greater cause!

Weirdly enough though I saw a standup one time where somebody was making fun of deaf people. And normally that would set me off, right? But this is what happened:
The comedian framed his show by saying that a deaf person came to him and asked him why he never made jokes about deaf people? And he said, well, that’s not a nice thing to do, you don’t make fun of deaf people for their disability.
And that person then said, that is discrimination. You should do it! And so I’m doing this to honor this deaf person who basically asked me to come up with jokes about deaf people.
That in return … I was able to watch, because it was not nasty, if that makes sense, he thought he is pleasing somebody and probably others in the same circumstance. And for some reason, that turns it into something good – in my mind.
So even our sense of humour seems to be influenced by our sense of injustice and all those things that come with it.

I was told .. ADHD is the bottom layer of your psyche. It is your brain, end of the story. And everything else will build on this. So basically every single area of your life is influenced by ADHD and your way of thinking because of it – even the things you will laugh about.




9 responses to “Sense of humour”

  1. AM Avatar

    That explains why I person I sort of dated last year loves to mess with me. He did not understand that he hurt me either because the jokes were too much for me.

    Thanks for sharing this. I learned yet another new thing about ADHD today.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. SM Avatar

      I know people that mess with people on a personal level a lot, like making fun of them and what they do or how they look like and they find it funny. I’m not one of those. That’s the kind of people I need to stay away from as far as possible also.

      With time and awareness I figured with who I can joke like that and with who I better be quiet. But not everyone develops this filter, I think. Or maybe they could but don’t want to, I don’t know … Sometimes we just have to set boundaries and walk away if they are not respected.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. AM Avatar

        Yeah that is what I did. He loved to push my buttons and see my reactions. I was in a weird life situation back then too.

        I was burned out because of me being unemployed and he had the nerves to turn it around so that everything was my fault?! I said goodbye and don’t miss him at all. Good riddance!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Renard Moreau Avatar

    🙂 Humour also varies from culture to culture. What is funny for someone in one country is not funny for another person in another country (They need to live in that country or be among people from that country to gain an understanding of the joke).

    Do enjoy the rest of your day and keep blogging, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. SM Avatar

      Oh that is beyond true. I’m currently living in a country with a different culture than the one I’m born in and I can’t count the times everyone around me was laughing and I’d just look confused.

      And the funniest part is then when they try to translate and they await laughter from you and you still don’t get it … And now all of us look confused 🤔!!
      And I’d just tell them… That’s not funny! And then try to convince me that it is – with all gestures and mixed different languages … THAT is funny though :p

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Renard Moreau Avatar

        🙂 Regarding humour, a large percentage of us here in the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago find American humour to be boring.

        What do you have to say about that?

        Like

      2. SM Avatar

        Hmm that is a very good question! I’ll have to think about that one. I love such questions, thank you!

        I had to google what American humour actually implies .. google was not helpful.

        I’m trying to think of who I know that is American and a comedian of some sort. I noticed that all the comedians I actually watch and find funny are either black or Hispanic 🤔 and so is their content. They give a lot of food for thought about situations and people and culture.

        If I think about American comedy (I have lived there for a year a while ago) in general …I suppose I often find it shallow and meaningless in a sense? Not very delicate or smart either. It’s often about other people or situations I can’t relate to as a foreigner so….That sounds judgemental, doesn’t it? It’s just an impression that I have in general based on a few samples 😉

        That was probably not even an answer to your question …

        How is the humour in the Republic Trinidad and Tobago?

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Renard Moreau Avatar

    🙂 The best way to describe it is a combination of being naughty and technical.

    You will need to familiarize yourself with the colloquialisms to gain context.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. SM Avatar

      That would explain why you find American humour boring then!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

“Inside an ADHD mind”…

… because that’s simply the essence of what this blog is about.

Hello there,

I have been a teacher and teacher trainer for quite a few years now and I thought I knew what ADHD is … Or neurodiversity in general. But wow was I wrong!

I recently got diagnosed with ADHD – Attention Deficit and Hyperactivity Disorder as they call it – a revelation that came later in life, as it does for so many of us.

This is such an interesting time for me as I see the effects of ADHD in every area of my own life and also in the life of my students and trainees.
A time full of thoughts and emotions and encouragment to share it with those who might find solace in my words.

While I may not be a psychiatrist, I have lived every day of my life with undiagnosed ADHD, very well acquainted with its twists and turns but also with it’s wonderful sides which often are not talked about a lot. Witnessing countless children pass through my classrooms, each struggling under the weight of misunderstanding and mistreatment for a condition they never asked for, only strengthens my resolve to provide a look into an ADHD mind and how our brain may work.

So whenever you read something on here, imagine that this is your ADHD child / student speaking to you. or maybe your ADHD adult that used to be that child and now has to live with the consequences.

And yes, I know you deserve a perfect blog post to read but you will find spelling mistakes, grammar mistakes, form mistakes, maybe jumps in thoughts. This is me.


So here is my invitation to you – a glimpse into my mind, my perspective, my journey, and my truth. Welcome to my world!

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started