Living with undiagnosed ADHD

Living with undiagnosed ADHD

Living with undiagnosed ADHD begins with you questioning from a young
age why you feel so different. You feel quite magical as a child, but you also notice
that you feel things much more intensely than those around you.

You also pick up on exactly how other people feel, even when they don’t share it. As you are developing your ADHD mask to hide your expressive emotions, everyone else is totally a mask too. You can see every facial expression, every shift in body language, tone of voice and energy. You notice what others don’t.

After all, ADHD isn’t really having an attention deficit. Instead, it’s paying attention to too much and too much detail all of the time. You become hyper aware as a result, and can often feel responsible for how others feel simply because you seem to be the only one that notices. This is when people pleasing begins.

You are full of energy, but sometimes it’s considered too much so you tone that down. You love to learn, but struggle to learn in the way that the grownups want you to. As you grow older and try out new things that you inevitably become quickly bored of, you begin to develop the insecurity of being that person that gives up, and the limiting belief of I am a failure sets in place.

You aren’t sure of what path to take as each new chapter of life unfolds, there are so many options and they simultaneously feel like an abundance of exciting opportunities and a bunch of pointless endeavors that you won’t reach the end of.

To give the your brain the guaranteed dopamine reward that your educational and career choices cant always provide, you begin to turn to unhealthy habits such as smoking, drinking, phone scrolling, excessive gaming, binge eating, out of control shopping and so on.
You perhaps seek stimulating situations that give you spiky shots of cortisol like
unhealthy relationships, scary movies, gossip, arguments, and even lawbreaking.

As life becomes a long list of to dos, more must dos and absolutely have to dos to
survive, you once again feel like the child in the classroom, knowing that you can do
it, but you aren’t sure exactly how.

Stress, anxiety, and a general sense of overwhelm become a cemented part of your daily life, and you are never fully rested or emotionally regulated. This results in you often questioning your own sanity and reaching out for help, but being told that you have anxiety, depression, stress and the likes of them.
you see or hear a list of symptoms and finally ask the big question: Do I have ADHD?

(Claire Michalsky)

5 responses to “Living with undiagnosed ADHD”

  1. AM Avatar

    Interesting! I’m pretty useless at calming myself down and “take a look around” so I often miss to read people and “walk all over them”. Someday I will learn not to do that, at least as often as I do. I know I can do it, but the question is more of a how.

    At the same time I do have more control about noticing stuff, which I thought people with ADHD really do struggle with. Attention for me is like not noticing anything around you, but I notice a lot of tiny things and I have a high morality as well. All of that other people usually lets them think I’m autistic, because it’s pretty normal for autistic people to notice the tiny details.

    I’m glad I do not possess any autistic traits and this was very pleasing to read, because I thought that this was not something within ADHD to begin with, noticing the tiny details.

    Like

    1. Inside an ADHD mind Avatar

      I have a problem reading social cues, like when I talk to people I don’t get it when they are not interested or things like that.

      However I’m very good at reading and feeling people. Like I can walk into a room and tell you who is not doing well without even talking to them. Or I had this situation recently when somebody was talking with friends and he would say something and everyone thought he was doing fantastic and I was the only one asking him … Are you alright?
      And everyone would look at me, what do you mean, what’s this question. So I shut up and when later without everyone around I asked again … Are you alright and he would say no.

      So I can pick up cues like that but not while interacting I suppose. I don’t know. I didn’t figure it out myself yet 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. AM Avatar

        I have similar issues, but lately I’ve also become a lot of an ego, and I blame the pandemic for it. I just don’t socialize the way I used to.

        Also now I’m so focused on my own issues that’s it’s hard to calm down and think of anything else. All I think about is basically stuff regarding my future 😂. Annoying, but interesting still that I can’t forget about it.

        I can also read a room, but lately I’ve stopped mentioning when I feel that something is wrong and if I’m in a situation where I believe I’m the most important, then I walk over them and that is not approved by others that often.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Inside an ADHD mind Avatar

    That’s valid though I think. There are times in life where we have to put ourselves first and forget about everything around.

    Like you need to take care of your future or how else will you survive.
    If people dont have jobs or money, this is what they will focus on. And once they are good with that they have the luxury to think about other things.

    Like

    1. Inside an ADHD mind Avatar

      Sent before I meant to …
      I spent the past few months to myself because I so much needed it. Now I feel like I can slowly come out of the woodwork because I have done my part … Now it’s time to test the waters in the real world … Somehow. If that makes sense. Still a scary place to be in but nowhere near where I was a year ago.

      Like

Leave a comment

“Inside an ADHD mind”…

… because that’s simply the essence of what this blog is about.

Hello there,

I have been a teacher and teacher trainer for quite a few years now and I thought I knew what ADHD is … Or neurodiversity in general. But wow was I wrong!

I recently got diagnosed with ADHD – Attention Deficit and Hyperactivity Disorder as they call it – a revelation that came later in life, as it does for so many of us.

This is such an interesting time for me as I see the effects of ADHD in every area of my own life and also in the life of my students and trainees.
A time full of thoughts and emotions and encouragment to share it with those who might find solace in my words.

While I may not be a psychiatrist, I have lived every day of my life with undiagnosed ADHD, very well acquainted with its twists and turns but also with it’s wonderful sides which often are not talked about a lot. Witnessing countless children pass through my classrooms, each struggling under the weight of misunderstanding and mistreatment for a condition they never asked for, only strengthens my resolve to provide a look into an ADHD mind and how our brain may work.

So whenever you read something on here, imagine that this is your ADHD child / student speaking to you. or maybe your ADHD adult that used to be that child and now has to live with the consequences.

And yes, I know you deserve a perfect blog post to read but you will find spelling mistakes, grammar mistakes, form mistakes, maybe jumps in thoughts. This is me.


So here is my invitation to you – a glimpse into my mind, my perspective, my journey, and my truth. Welcome to my world!

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started